I shouldn’t worry now

song i wrote quite a ways back … one of my favorites. like something you would go ‘play this one at my funeral’ — it sort of is just more ME than almost anything else i’ve written. don’t know why

The world won’t close its eyes
Sings a song instead
Brings me to my knees
But I won’t give up

In my own weak song
Lights the days ahead
Foundation of the dreams
They’re all around me

I know I shouldn’t worry now
The worst is behind me
But why do I scrape and bow
To all that comes along?

The thrill and the might
Of God and the heavens above
Give me the strength to fight
I shouldn’t worry now

Where has the darkness gone
It was a comfort
But now the light in my eyes
I don’t know how to be

The road is open ahead
For what I can’t afford
The pennies float to the ground
And I don’t pick them up

I know I shouldn’t worry now
The worst is behind me
But why do I scrape and bow
To all that comes along?

Shadows breathe out of sight
Might be a saving grace
Holding love to the light
I shouldn’t worry now

And all my choices
All my sins
Weigh against me
In the end

But I don’t worry
I want more
Gates of heaven
By the door

Open gently
Look inside
It’s not empty
Why you cry?

When it’s all said and done
And all done and said
I think there’s no regrets
‘Cause I didn’t give up

Though Im not yet finished
There’s work to be done
Dreams dance in my head
Leave me wide awake

I know I shouldn’t worry now
The worst is behind me
Why do I scrape and bow
To all that comes along?

The angels take flight
Feathers drift to the ground
Wings of the storm kiss the night
I shouldn’t worry now

4 thoughts on “I shouldn’t worry now

Feedback always welcome

