Transition to Digital Art

It is interesting, going from traditional mediums — acrylic, ink, charcoal — to the digital medium.  In some ways it frees the creative process, in that there is no waste of materials.  You can paint and delete to heart’s content, with no obstruction.  Replacing movement is a little trickier, and while a digital pen can replicate motion fairly well, it does leave one feeling like are back in kindergarten and reduced to crayons and refrigerator-art:  look mom, see what I did!

So in a sense, you get to explore the region of what too much freedom with art expression can manifest.  There is such a thing as ‘over-working’ a piece, to become so immersed that the impartial eye is lost.  Now the great thing about digital-medium, is that an over-work does not have to be the end of the story.  Mixing too much and too violently does not leave one with that result that can only be described as “mud.”

So in that sense, is why I have primarily taken my art onto the digital where it has stayed:  I’m good at getting lost in my own spell, fighting for something I can’t quite describe.  And within the change over to electronic artwork, find that it can give me that same sense of telling my story … in something that may be more or less than words, but definitely different.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words.  Though while writing I truly work to blend new expression with older understandings (it doesn’t help much to say something if you are not understood) — within the visual arts, I don’t worry about being anything but what the expression itself decides.  And in this sense, the freedom that can be realized through digital art becomes something a little greater than anything possible by hand and traditional methods.  Some might say it’s not as real or not even to be compared.

But as an artist there is also this:  While I maintain exercising the eye within the cyber-scope of delivery, those pieces that I have done through traditional mediums will only gain in value.  I even prize the ones I have kept for myself a little more, like they are the gemstones on the wall.  Framed moments of time that can never be replaced.

So for artists out there, not sure or not willing to give digital art a try ……. it is worth learning the programs and finding another way to express.  There are enough variables, and while a finished digital piece is all really just a mass of computer code–  I like to think of each one as its own sort of program I wrote through the heart instead of the mind.  What are we anyway, but creatures of expression?  Regardless of what is used, the end result is nothing short of a work of love.  Maybe it’s the time;  maybe it’s the fact that you are smiling on the universe.

So Weeps the Land
So Weeps the Land

 

4 Replies to “Transition to Digital Art”

Feedback always welcome

