2012-07-29_14-13-36_994

down the road

you want people to start riding the bus

taking the train

yet …

 

it is late Sunday afternoon

i am trying to get home after a day downtown

hot!

tired!

i ride the train to my connection

at 33rd

have my headphones on

trying to picture myself home already

hot!

tired!

as the train pulls into the station

i see the 33rd bus is THERE!

omg, i have to hurry

i know that they only run every hour

on Sunday

 

i miss the bus

and it means an hour wait

in the sun … no shade for the benches

there

 

hot!

tired!

 

a man accosts me

as i try to tap off before rushing over the tracks

 

apparently he followed me off the train

like a hound

like a dog

like he thought i was rushing to run

from a hound

a dog … he might have called for me to stop

i did not hear — must have whispered

 

this man accosts me while i’m tapping my card

he SEES me tap my card

 

it is a train-ticket person

suppose to make you feel secure

 

he held me up

i stood there crying ….. sobbing!

saying PLEASE!  my bus …. it is there …. i will miss the bus!

 

hot!

tired!

 

he stood smug

kept running my card on his machine

saying it wasn’t working

for some reason

 

i say let me tap it again

then maybe it will work

he says no

they will charge you again

 

which it would NOT

is this even a real worker?

he doesn’t know that it goes by TIME

not how many times you tap?

 

this MAN

dogged me off the train

in his mind a catch?  i don’t know

i had tapped on, downtown

 

hot!

tired!

 

the MAN finally lets me go

at HIS pleasure

he still can’t get a read on my card

but finally asks

 

“what bus?”

i point

the bus is RIGHT there

you would have to be daft to miss it!

 

he remarks

as a snot:  “have a nice day”

no apology

no courtesy ….

 

hot!

tired!

i rush to my bus all the harder

inflamed!

incensed!

i made the trip to town after church

was in a dress

my best jewelry

 

and to be accosted like that

until i was crying …

 

i yelled over my shoulder

“i hope YOU have a lousy day!”

i saw him talking with another MAN

happy in whatever plot

 

to bother one lone woman

on a train …..

 

 

hot!

tired!

 

i was repairing my mind

spending the day looking UP

at the skyscrapers

 

and your MAN destroyed my healing

DESTROYED!

 

i cannot redress the loss

except to say …………

 

 

really?

really?  this is how you intend

to get more cars off the road?  really?

who wants to ride a train at this rate?

 

where a woman traveling alone

is made to feel set upon ….

 

if i was carrying a backpack

if i was in jeans

or had tattoos ….?

 

in a DRESS

a small purse

my back brace

 

hot!

tired!

 

i found myself waving my arms

while complaining to the bus driver

like a mad Italian!

the bus driver smiled and agreed, crazy!

 

a passenger leaned forward

said …. “yep, they just work to harass you.”

 

i do not understand

do you want people taking mass transit or not?

seriously …. or is it just for show

 

i am angry AGAIN

just in writing this! 

to be accosted … a lone woman

traveling

 

trying to get HOME

 

hot!

tired!

 

and held

against my will

until i am sobbing

“let me catch my bus!  it is right THERE!

crying …tears and tears …. “you will make me miss my bus!”

 

he smiled

smiled at my distress

 

 

 

Feedback always welcome

